My Cod - Cookham Parade reviews

Back to reviews

Takeaway Fish and Chips and off licence

47 Station Parade
Station Hill
CookhamBRNT

Tel: (01628) 290580

My Cod - Cookham Parade website

70 reviews
Average Score: 4 / 5

Add your review of My Cod - Cookham Parade

 

Review added 31/07/2017 19:24 by JOE

HI GUYS AND DOLLS!!!!
DID YOU KNOW THAT "MY COD"
WILL BE OPRATING AS "JOE'S FARMHOUSE CAFE" IN THE MORNINGS,THEIR FIRST OPENING DATE IS MONDAY 07/08/2017!!!!
PLEASE TRY THEM THEY ARE "GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY AND GOOD HONEST FOOD"
THEY PROVIDE BREAKFAST,LUNCH,DINNER,SPECIALS,SANDWICHES(HOT AND COLD)TAKE AWAY OR EAT IN!!
OPEN FROM 7AM.

5 / 5

Review added 31/05/2017 16:51 by Lee

Tasty food I will Recommend

4.5 / 5

Review added 10/05/2017 19:18 by anon

I bought 4 large cod 2 medium chip 3 mussy pea
3 curry sauce all food is good tasty Friendly service
Really recommend

4.5 / 5

Review added 09/05/2017 22:02 by Mark

Having moved from Bourne End to Maidenhead Riverside - we've been looking for a chippy to replace the three good ones that we previously had access to (Bourne End, Flackwell Heath and Wooburn Green).
So We went to My Cod for the first time tonight and the freshly cooked fish was absolutely fabulous - the best I've had in ages.
Sadly that's where the good news ends. The chips were hard and under cooked and the mushy peas were almost liquid and smelt foul. We threw them away and won't be going back!

1 / 5

Review added 17/03/2017 19:24 by anon

Really Tasty Fish And Chip And Friendly Service

5 / 5

Review added 03/03/2017 15:01 by anon

I used to go to My Cod when they first opened, and was really impressed with the food and the service. For various reasons (not least an expanding waistline) I stopped going and only recently crossed the threshold once again. What a shock I got! The waiting area has been reduced by half, and the space has been taken up by some sort of pizza oven(?) and to be perfectly honest it now looks a bit scruffy and like the sort of shop that belongs more in a parade of shops in a town centre rather than our pretty village. (I don't mean that to sound snobby by the way.) The food was OK, but not as good as it once was - a case of too many dishes, too many cooks and not enough paying attention perhaps? Anyway, having been a campaigner for a fish and chip shop in Cookham I was really disappointed to see what the shop has now become. I will probably remain a customer (waistline will decide on that) as it is so convenient to visit on the way home, but I'm really not as impressed as I once was.

3.5 / 5

Review added 23/11/2016 19:23 by Tim

Good food and good service
Will price i well order again

5 / 5

Review added 20/11/2016 01:54 by Mel

I can't fault my cod cookham. It's obvious that this anon person is a worker from the Bourne End chippy, but being a Cookham resident I must say my food is always delicious, the fish is wonderful the kebab and pizza are also tasty. So shame on you

5 / 5

Review added 18/11/2016 16:30 by anon

It's a takeaway .... err what else can you say
Bourne End chippy is far superior

0.5 / 5

Review added 05/11/2016 11:17 by Moor

After long time I bought my food fish and chip great food
Fast and friendly service for me I Really Recomend

5 / 5

Review added 31/10/2016 16:06 by anon

Fantastic fish and chip now in the village

5 / 5

Review added 23/09/2016 20:59 by anon

What a shame it is to read the unnecessarily obnoxious tone of some of the comments that are being left on here... It just isn't necessary.
We tried a pizza tonight for the first time tonight. Very good value (6.99). It took 15 mins to however was made up from scratch and I had been made aware at time of ordering that there would be a 15 min wait. The end product was very good. It had a nice, light, pizza base and all the toppings were fresh. We were nicely surprised and thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 / 5

Review added 14/09/2016 10:34 by anon

Desperate attempts to rig the review system with false 5 star reviews........ just go away

0.5 / 5

Review added 05/09/2016 21:41 by Rubby

I had my first pizza today i can Really Reccomend

5 / 5

Review added 04/09/2016 05:48 by Gazzetta

Had my first pizza, and yes it was a 20 minute wait, but it was delicious.

5 / 5

Review added 24/08/2016 08:57 by anon

Question why this business has decided to directly compete with an existing, excellent local fast food restaurant by introducing something that is already done really well in Cookham, by Pizza Dreams, instead of bringing something we don't have, like fried chicken (KFC alternative). Fingers crossed they may pick up the hint. I won't be buying my pizza from My Cod.

3.5 / 5

Review added 17/08/2016 13:01 by anon

tried thier new pizza range last night, very nice, great value for money but if you're in a rush go for fish n chips as it took 20 minutes to cook but was worth the wait !!

5 / 5

Review added 06/07/2016 18:39 by Lee

i have used my cod many time Food has always good good service

5 / 5

Review added 30/06/2016 16:06 by Bob

Fantastic fish and chip Really liked it

5 / 5

Review added 17/06/2016 12:05 by Andy

The best chippy in the Maidenhead area by far

3.5 / 5

Review added 08/06/2016 23:00 by james

Great fish and chip in berkshire -Area

4.5 / 5

Review added 21/05/2016 22:14 by anon

Great. Would definitely recommend it and always seems so busy so show's it's good

4 / 5

Review added 21/05/2016 22:12 by anon

Went to this fast food place near the cookham parade after Rock The Moor and loved it as they were quick to give my food and it tasted excellent. like a 4 star restaurant meal but in a take away box. Will be coming again

5 / 5

Review added 15/05/2016 09:33 by anon

Best fish and chip in cookham now food is great

5 / 5

Review added 12/05/2016 20:19 by AndyC

Nice to have a fish and chip shop in Cookham. Food has always been great.

4.5 / 5

Review added 26/04/2016 10:18 by Lee

i bought 3 fish and chip from my cod All food is great good service

4.5 / 5

Review added 18/04/2016 15:15 by Batty

I Order my cod fish and chip pukka pie and mix kebab all food great
Good service

4.5 / 5

Review added 13/04/2016 21:51 by anon

Well, being a local and having read the mixed reviews we thought we would give My Cod a try. After a busy day in the garden helping our neighbours deal with a tree which had fallen in the storms we were too tired to cook, so we decided on fish and chips. We were not disappointed. Although the staff were uninspiring, the food was not. We thoroughly enjoyed four portions of fish and chips. All were freshly cooked, the batter was light and not overbearing and we had more than enough chips. So pleased to have this shop in Cookham.

4 / 5

Review added 28/03/2016 18:35 by SadieB

Really tasty. Fast and friendly service.

5 / 5

Review added 23/03/2016 19:20 by anon

Still dreadful!

1 / 5

Review added 27/02/2016 00:11 by Alex M

Funny how the negative reviews are always from "anon"....

I've had fish and chips for the family quite a few times now, and it's always been very good, and the service always fast and friendly. For me. My Cod is a very welcome addition to the Cookham takeaway scene.

4 / 5

Review added 26/02/2016 21:52 by anon

Just not impressed. Slow service. Food was dry from being under the light for so long. Chips were soggy. Wouldn't recommend

1 / 5

Review added 23/02/2016 17:17 by Oliver

I Have used my cod many time its Great fish and chip and good service

4 / 5

Review added 05/01/2016 16:45 by B Cosgrove

Not impressed
overly long wait for food and chips when they arrived weren't great.

0.5 / 5

Review added 04/01/2016 17:18 by anon

On Christmas Eve, treated ourselves to takeaway of fish & chips , chicken burger and veggie burger. Overall experience wasn't bad tho' not 5 stars. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, the fish and burgers were good, but the chips could have been better as were a bit soggy for my taste. Will definitely go again as good to have a local chippy.

3.5 / 5

Review added 30/12/2015 18:09 by Robert

Having a fish and chipy in our parade is so convenient for the locals.
I personally think this is one of the best takeaways in cookham, the food is very tasty, the price is right and NEAR TOO. Excellent.

5 / 5

Review added 09/12/2015 13:21 by Gazzetta

I have used My Cod many times. Its hardly the greatest fish and chip shop but I have certainly had many worse. Overall really good and really convenient for Cookham residents. I am however absolutely appalled by some reviews which appear Anon. Be real !!!!

4.5 / 5

Review added 08/12/2015 14:57 by anon

Really come on?
A lot of positive reviews suddenly appear after the fishcake post.
Nearly all of them written in broken English........... at least don't insult people by posting fake reviews.

0.5 / 5

Review added 05/12/2015 20:32 by Andy

I have tried various things from My Cod and can say it has improved every time and is serving some great food, those who tried in the past and weren't happy should give them another try.

5 / 5

Review added 05/12/2015 00:11 by John

Last night i ordered a large cod and chips, my girlfriend had mushy peas and curry sauce. Great taste, it was just the right amount of batter as well. Thank you My Cod.

5 / 5

Review added 28/11/2015 22:48 by Ken

I bought donner wrap for me my wife order fish cake chip and curry sauce its fantastic

5 / 5

Review added 24/11/2015 21:54 by Mr david

I bought large donner kebab with salad and mint sauce well done to the cook price is cry fair .

5 / 5

Review added 21/11/2015 21:58 by anon

I bought small chip and Mars bar with batter max so nice cook nice

4 / 5

Review added 20/11/2015 16:38 by Mrs denish

Great deal oap discount fish and chip 4 I bought today 2 fish cake and chip 3.50 for my son tasty cook fresh so now I stay my cod local

5 / 5

Review added 20/11/2015 13:31 by Andrew

Tried fish cake & chips deal for me and spring roll for my girl friend. It was really fresh and tastiest food, I have had ever.
Thx my cod.

5 / 5

Review added 18/11/2015 11:58 by Charles m

Very good lunch menu - plenty of veggie options as well.influenced menu - prepared while you wait. Something a bit different, very good quality at sensible prices. Good for a lunch break.

5 / 5

Review added 15/11/2015 17:51 by anon

I had a fishcake and chips friday night. At 2am I got a horrible case of food poisoning from the fishcake which wiped me out for the whole of Saturday. Couldn't face eating or drinking anything and had no energy to get out of bed. Others ate the chips, so must have been the fishcake. I am concerned the food is not fresh or is not cooked fresh. After this experience I won't be going back there!

1 / 5

Review added 07/11/2015 13:19 by Brenden

Fantastic mix kebab. Really liked it.

5 / 5

Review added 04/11/2015 13:04 by chefski

Went for a large kingfisher burger, was quite pleased with the quality as the prices are very low. Reasonable waiting time and friendly staff, would recommend the burger although you have to specify if you want a runny (soft) egg. Overall satisfied with my experience.

3.5 / 5

Review added 04/11/2015 12:11 by Bess

After almost giving up on this establishment, the fish and chip supper we enjoyed this week was a huge improvement on the disappointing quality of recent months. We were told there is a new chef, so let's hope he stays.

4.5 / 5

Review added 02/11/2015 18:20 by mrs paul

Their yummy fry chicken and bbq chicken has more flavor and better taste than other shops I have tried. Realy love bbq chicken. My husband loves the fish It can be a good place to grab a quick meal.its recommended.

5 / 5

Review added 15/10/2015 21:55 by anon

We tried the fish and chips (husband) and chicken pie and chips (me) tonight- and they were really good. Much better than Bourne end or Marlow - in our experience. The pie was a bought in pukka pie and was what you'd expect, but served piping hot - and the fish was fresh with no bones and lots of meat.
The chips were yummy!
We hope they do well - it's great to have a local chippy - for an occasional treat.

5 / 5

Review added 08/10/2015 23:47 by Mrs Thaman

Thank you so much for all your comments on My Cod, some disappointing but also more good comments. We, at My Cod would like to let you know that we have changed suppliers, a more variety on the NEW Menu which you should see SOON. We also have two new professional chefs who will prepare all your orders and we will have a charcoal grill to cook fresh chicken etc.
Moreover I hope you have all seen the stars on the door which is 5 star. We will endeavour to keep all customers happy.
Many thanks
Mrs Thaman

5 / 5

Review added 01/09/2015 08:00 by Andi

Very disappointing - I agree with previous reviews...would like to see this succeed...but currently, I'm still driving to Furze Platt. I got fish and chips from here whilst I had a friend visiting from the USA (what could be more traditionally English...)...the chips were okay but the fish was awful - so small that the fish had gone dry under the batter. I'll try it again at some point as I want to support local businesses but not for a while...

1 / 5

Review added 31/08/2015 07:17 by anon

I feel so sorry for the owners of this business.... They have clearly invested a lot of money in this venture, however, appear to have come in with zero experience and yet, despite working very long hours, that inexperience is affecting their product.
As it is a small, family owned/run business, it is my hope that the owners will take the constructive reviews (or parts thereof) and improve their product. It would be great if My Cod sorts out the teething problems so locals don't have to get in the car and drive to another village to get good fish and chips... Soggy chips, despite waiting 15 minutes for them to be cooked fresh because they are served in polystyrene containers that make them sweat; batter that tastes almost burnt; a stench that hits you the second you enter the shop that has been noticeable for several weeks now.. Please, sort it out. I really WANT to support your business My Cod.

1 / 5

Review added 27/08/2015 09:10 by Robert Harris

It's just about OK and I can have my usual evening G and T before I walk there. I agree with others and much prefer Smiles in Bourne End.

I think the staff are a bit chaotic but I haven't found them unfriendly.

I have not looked at the review section for some time and I'm surprised that 'anons' are still allowed.

2 / 5

Review added 26/08/2015 16:34 by Aaron

Been in twice to give it the benefit of doubt,

Both times was the only customer, despite this service was slow and the staff barely acknowledged me very unfriendly vibe about the place.
food not great
will stick with other local chippies

2 / 5

Review added 19/08/2015 13:43 by Rhubarb

Fascinating that shortly after a less than complimentary review that a perfect, glowing one materialises from Anon.. which appears to contradict the majority of experiences being recorded by customers... lets give the contributor the benefit of doubt and assume its a real review based on independent custom..

3 / 5

Review added 18/08/2015 00:01 by anon

Best fish and chips around the area by a country mile. Never had to wait longer then 10 minutes for them to freshly cook the fish even when the staff had half a dozen people pop in off the London train.

5 / 5

Review added 15/08/2015 08:01 by anon

After the long awaited opening and the initial excitement of this local fish and chip shop, with regret, having given it four chances, we will be taking our custom back to Smiles (in Bourne End) where we've been given freshly fried, superb quality, fresh fish and chips, cooked to order and perfection every time.
Cookham folks are willing to pay for top tucker. Hopefully, Oh My Cod will soon realise this.

2 / 5

Review added 01/08/2015 20:53 by anon

Only been there once, when it had just opened. Haddock and chips perfectly ok - I mean, for heaven's sake it's not the fat duck!. Certainly wish them the very best, it's great to have a choice of takeaways. Now, when is Lychee reopening, Peter - what's the deal. I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms!

3.5 / 5

Review added 26/07/2015 16:10 by Gazzetta

I don't think this shop serves the greatest fish on earth and I don't think the service is the quickest I have experienced but I am so glad it is finally open and a super addition to the village. The quality is better each time i have used them which demonstrates to me they are improving and each time the staff are very friendly.

5 / 5

Review added 25/07/2015 20:17 by anon

My first visit to the chip shop was disappointing. The shop signage looks gawdy and tacky. The staff were not very friendly. Soggy chips and not a good portion for large. Shame but won't be going again.

2 / 5

Review added 21/07/2015 20:42 by Mary Cadle

I have been to the new fish and chips shop in Cookham parade a few times since they opened and always find the staff pleasant, helpful and quick to serve. The food is priced well and come at a very high standard!!

5 / 5

Review added 20/07/2015 17:25 by anon

Was the only customer in there one lunchtime, slow service and not really that great food.
Will stick with the tried and tested chippy in Bourne End.

Also makes the parade start to look like that awful part of Maidenhead on the A4 down to the river bridge.

2 / 5

Review added 16/07/2015 16:22 by anon

Similarly to the previous review, I visited My Cod last week and was extremely disappointed. I was quite excited at the idea that Cookham would have a fish and chips shop since this is something that was lacking for sure. I went there on a Thursday end of the afternoon and eventhough there were quite a few people before me, it was not very busy. Anyway, I placed my order and overall found the prices to be very reasonable. However, it not only took ages for our order to be prepared, but this shop look so disorganised. 4 people to serve you and one person to actually cook the food is a clear recipe for a long wait! I think we had to wait something like 20 minutes to 30 minutes to have our order given to us. The funniest thing was that I ordered scampi and it should be 10 of them per portion however they cooked only 8 and I had to wait even longer for the extra 2 to be cooked. Fair play to My Cod guys, they gave me a couple extra in order to apologise for the wait. Would have been great if these were not chicken nuggets!!! The scampi were average as well as the fish.

Anyway, I do hope that My Cod sort the service out as a matter of emergency or I would not be surprised that they will not survive very long. The food is average and I will not be visiting them again. Such a shame!

0.5 / 5

Review added 15/07/2015 16:11 by anon

Last Saturday, 12th July, I bought a large cod and mushy peas plus small cod and chips.
Had to wait at least twenty minutes. Not many customers in shop, plus one other customer had been waiting longer.
When order was ready, the batter both pieces fish was well "overcooked".
Service needs to improve.

0.5 / 5

Review added 14/07/2015 01:24 by Balvir and Rimmy Thaman

We would like to thank everyone for all your reviews and
Comments for My Cod. We have worked hard to give you all
A shop which had been missing from the parade.
Roy has been such a great man for helping us achieve your dreams
Come true.
We hope to give you good food at a good price.
Many Thanks
From balvir and Rimmy

5 / 5

Review added 12/07/2015 20:58 by anon

So happy to be eating the best fish and chips in my village.
The food is great, the staff are so helpful in choices and such
A friendly and family environment.
Thanks to you my kids will be coming again and again.

5 / 5

Review added 08/07/2015 12:37 by anon

At last the village has a"fish n chips" shop, went on the opening night and the food and service was at a good high standard. I think this will be a very busy shop!!

5 / 5