Lychee - Cookham Rise reviews

Back to reviews

Chinese take-away

57 Station Parade
Station Hill
Cookham

Lychee - Cookham Rise website

26 reviews
Average Score: 3.5 / 5

Add your review of Lychee - Cookham Rise

 

Review added 23/07/2014 15:40 by Barrie

Ordered set meal for 4 July 23 2014. Very good quality, very good quantity. Very good value. 35.70 for 4 would have fed 6

5 / 5

Review added 11/01/2014 21:11 by Resident

They should change the name from Lychee to Onions, prawns with onions is more like onions with three or four prawns or onions with a few strip of beef. All dish taste almost the same either beef or prawns they obviously add up the same gravy and I'm sure they used MSG I watched them cooked and lined up are MSG and sugar... will go to Haka way better and lot cheaper just a bit of a trip

0.5 / 5

Review added 22/11/2013 16:46 by Her upstairs

Another well prepared, tasty and plentiful meal and glad to hear the ceiling tile problem is being resolved.

5 / 5

Review added 14/04/2013 12:10 by anon

First visit for a while and my last. Shop is looking tired and a bit dirty - ceiling tiles missing, others water damaged, fan above door thick with grease and dirt. The pad thai bore no resemblance to the Thai dish I ate in Thailand - noodles in a tomato sauce with no beansprouts or peanuts, and the green curry was dirty brown and awful. The spicy crispy beef was OK but not at all spicy.

0.5 / 5

Review added 20/01/2013 18:53 by cookham resident

This is the third night in a row they are closed, and over the weekend (friday 18th jan, saturday 19th jan and sunday 20th jan). One can understand about friday 18th (bad weather) but saturday and sunday was fine. They could have at least been open saturday and sunday for customer collections!!

1 / 5

Review added 14/12/2012 23:06 by aj

I'm one of the regulars. Peter very kindly put my vegetarian partner's favourite dish - a custom special (vegetarian singapore noodles with quorn pieces added) on the computer. It's order number 109Q and if you're vegetarian, try it, it's divine..... Anyway, great food, a real treat on one of those nights where you just can't be bothered cooking....

5 / 5

Review added 06/01/2012 17:28 by John

Oh dear. Recently returned to Cookam after 7 years away. Dropped into Lychee on the way home on new years day after the jazz at The Jolly. ordered 1st meal for ages. It used to be the best in the area bar none. Maybe it was a bad day but....
Rice was great the shredded beef cold & chewy, sweet sour prawn too heavy on the batter. Disappointed sesame prawns better.
Please somebody Correct me if I just had an off day.

2 / 5

Review added 09/11/2011 12:08 by sandra S

Great food. watching them cook it in front of you only adds to the experience. Fresh,fast and very tasty.

4 / 5

Review added 17/09/2011 11:22 by Christine Jannetta

Excellent food cooked in front of your eyes (can't get more freshly prepared) and friendly service. Highly recommended!

5 / 5

Review added 30/01/2011 11:04 by Paul

Generally impressed, usually the food is tasty and plenty of it. Couple of bad experiences, had s&s chicken hong kong style and it was way to dry - not enough sauce, and yes I know it's not supposed to have much but it was a lot less than others I've had. And more recently I had a king prawn curry and the same night I had a bad fever - can't say for sure it was the curry of course but that's my experience, could have just disagreed with me, don't let me put you off but it's good to have this information out there. Cheers.

3 / 5

Review added 26/10/2010 19:20 by Lynda and Billy M

What a friendly welcome by Peter who remembered us by name ..they told us they need a brilliant new chef...
Food was very good.
Always returning...

3.5 / 5

Review added 23/06/2010 10:43 by Her upstairs

In 2 years of meals from Lychee I have never been disappointed. They take pride in their food, service and premises. Glad to have such a superior takeaway in the village.

5 / 5

Review added 03/06/2010 18:32 by anon

Awesome. Never a bad meal. Never a bad word. Always courteous, always good food. Good banter with Peter the Proprietor. Highly recommended.

5 / 5

Review added 24/05/2010 15:30 by anon

Great food, loads of variety and a friendly service!! They always remember you and try new things! Recommend a visit!!!

4 / 5

Review added 18/01/2010 18:55 by Peter Yeung

To all our customers,

We at lychee do have plenty of room for our commercial waste but if and where I can I will try and recycle and do my part for the environment as I am sure does everyone else. All my paper/cardboard is recycled and so are cans and plastics.
At the side of my premises there are 4 dedicated bins purely for cans and plastic bottles and 5 bins for bottles only and they are clearly labelled. I am absolutely certain that either my staff or indeed myself would not have intentionally put it in the wrong bins, it may be that Rob is unaware that there are 4 bins for cans and plastic bottles.
However, I shall stop using the bins from now on.
Sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Peter Yeung
lychee

4 / 5

Review added 25/11/2009 22:17 by Rob

A shame to see an employee of Lychee putting metal and plastic waste in the glass recycling bins next to their shop. It should go in their commercial waste.

0.5 / 5

Review added 03/04/2009 16:24 by peter

fantastic food fantastic service

5 / 5

Review added 19/12/2008 18:59 by anon

Great chinese takeaway - my son loves the crab claws. Also they are very accomodating and cook our food without monosodium glutamate - the stuff added that makes you thirsty and feel rough the next day!

5 / 5

Review added 18/09/2008 11:38 by anon

I use Lychee's a fair amount and have never so far had a bad meal. They are friendly and welcoming and good value. Thumbs up from me!

5 / 5

Review added 03/09/2008 18:44 by anon

I have to say that I have used Lychee three times the first it was good I mean really good but the second time, not so good and the third time, well I was dissapointed, I found things in my food that should't have been there. I complained and was told sorry. To be honest it has put me off I will not be using them again

1 / 5

Review added 18/08/2008 21:41 by Her upstairs

Polite, scrupulously clean and tasty food. Recommended.

4 / 5

Review added 21/06/2008 22:31 by Andrew

I'm hopelessly addicted to their sweet and sour pork but every now and again I get round to having something different - everything I've had from there has been great. They're always courteous and efficient, even when rushed off their feet, and as my partner is vegetarian, it's great to see them doing dishes with quorn, which she loves. Highly recommended....

5 / 5

Review added 26/05/2008 17:51 by Joanne

Great food. They will even try suggestions for new combinations of their menu. Friendly, really good portions - sometimes too much to finish - and we have never been let down by any of their take-away meals yet.

5 / 5

Review added 10/02/2008 15:25 by Andrew Steatham

I too like Lychee. Apart from decent nosh they are so so handy by the station there on the way home from work.

4 / 5

Review added 08/02/2008 21:47 by Jeff

My experience of Chinese takeways in the past has not been great until I tried Lychee's on Cookham Parade. The staff were very friendly both on the phone and when we went to collect our order.

5 / 5

Review added 06/02/2008 11:10 by Sarah

I was visiting some friends in Cookham who I haven't seen for ages! Since we had a lot of catching up to do we decided to get a takeaway, we called for a Chinese (Lychee) the service was quick and friendly! and the food was fantastic! If all your take aways are like this I'm moving to Cookham!!!

5 / 5