The Peking Inn - Cookham Village reviews

Back to reviews

Chinese Restaurant

Peking Inn (Cookham) Ltd
49 High Street
Cookham
Maidenhead
Berks SL6 9SL
Tel: 01628 520900 | Fax: 01628 527722

The Peking Inn - Cookham Village website

50 reviews
Average Score: 4 / 5

Add your review of The Peking Inn - Cookham Village

 

Review added 17/10/2016 10:43 by AJay

Another great meal here, the Peking has never let me down

5 / 5

Review added 11/04/2015 12:50 by Jamie

The dining out experience holds a different importance and value for everyone and hence the expectations we carry vary tremendously. I am very fortunate to dine out regularly and at all types of restaurants - from fine dining Michelin star venues to small homely bistros. The Peking Inn I have known for over 20yrs and I have dined there regularly over that time and have never failed to be impressed. Impressed by the food quality, the service, the ambience and the overall experience. There are few restaurants I regard so highly for the consistency they achieve on all fronts and I look forward to each visit as if it were my first. Pam and John and the full team around them (Patrick your very presence has always been a delight) deliver for me and my family the perfect dining experience - personal, enjoyable and memorable. Thank you all!

5 / 5

Review added 10/06/2014 20:05 by plateman

Having used the Chef Peking for 30 years in its various re-incarnations at Maidenhead, Cookham and Henley, I stopped using it after the poor, stale food served to us at a disastrous £3000-plus private party for 50 business friends in 2001.

2014 saw me willing to re-try, I took a party of four to the Cookham outlet, and perhaps foolishly, ordered the £25 per head fixed menu, which I assumed would be pretty jolly good at that price. Suffice to say that it will be another few years before I re-open my Asian food experiment programme.

I may have too high an expectation, as I spend quite a bit of time in the Far East, where one dines so well (for so little). A maxim used by Asian diners is 'Never try an empty restaurant' - had I acted on that , I would not have entered - we were the only customers for the session.

This is a good spot for MSG enthusiasts and for anyone who revels in dried pre-pulled crispy(??)duck in dry pancakes. I would complain about the tiny portions, had the food been enjoyable; as it was, I was grateful that they had put us on ration.

Why not complain? Because I am English and I was entertaining old friends. Had I been alone, I would have sent some dishes back for replacement with newly-cooked, or required a significant alteration to the heavy bill.

Service was fine- but why not? That's all the front-of-house people have to get right.
I once had a more disappointing Chinese meal - knocked up by an Armenian in Crete. That was predictable!

Notwithstanding, I am pleased to see that so many of the reviews are so positive, and I opine that many reviewers wrote from long experience of critical appreciation. Shame my own trial-run bore such unripe fruit.

0.5 / 5

Review added 19/11/2013 20:08 by Beverley

I wholeheartedly would recommend the Peking Inn.. I've just recently had the pleasure of hiring the restaurant out for a birthday celebration.
Pam was attentive to our needs from the start and kept regular contact to ensure everything ran smoothly.
The night itself was a tremendous success, with every single guest left absolutely raving about the food. The service was impeccable and the staff friendly and welcoming to all. We were so well looked after that we're considering it for future events! The easiest party I've ever organised - smooth sailing thanks to all involved at the Peking Inn.
I could continue to eulogise about the absolutely fantastic evening, impressive decorations and simply devine food!! Every guest left happy and full! Certainly a most memorable evening!
Absolutely outstanding!! PPPPPP

5 / 5

Review added 30/07/2013 14:54 by S&B

Have been using this restaurant for many years, excellent food as always and service is fantastic.We dine at the PI every week and have never been disapointed. Best there is without a doubt.The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

5 / 5

Review added 06/05/2013 08:58 by Mary

First back since it changed owners. Food just as good, place was packed so that says something. Service excellent considering how busy it was and very reasonable despite 12.5% service charge.

4 / 5

Review added 05/05/2013 19:24 by Happy Eater

Not been for a while but so pleased to have gone back. Fab food and friendly service. Nothing like tasty Chinese straight from the wok/oven and so much flavour and quality. A little pricy but I don't mind when it is so well prepared and well presented.

5 / 5

Review added 28/03/2013 21:11 by styx

Enjoyed a superb meal at the Peking Inn this week. The food is consistently good, the atmosphere is generated by the diners rather than the staff or the building, which is also good.

Why the average rating? The 12.5% service charge (at our discretion) is automatically added to your final bill, and helpfully they add this at the table if you pay by card.... Would like the choice personally (it is at our discretion after all)

Our service charge was £7.90... I paid as I don't like to fuss... Had they had left this levy off the bill I would have left £10 in cash when we left.

Please don't make the assumption that your customers are happy to give you a tip... Most will do but it's rude and frankly a greedy approach that left a slightly sour taste in the mouth.

3 / 5

Review added 18/03/2013 09:04 by Mark

I agree with Jamie. I had a meal there on Saturday with the family, five of us. We had six beers and a nice bottle of white wine, Starters, half a crispy duck and main courses. The bill came to £131 with tip, which I thought was very reasonable, the food was excellent and service spot on. The place was full, we left about 9ish and people were still coming in. That alone speaks for itself, worth visiting if you have not done so before.

4.5 / 5

Review added 11/02/2013 22:58 by Jamie

To the last reviewer - I am surprised at your experience and would urge
you to try again or perhaps dine at PI and speak to John or Pam about your experience - they would I am sure want to rectify it and restore your
your faith in them. I have been a regular diner at Peking Inn for over 15years (now travelling from Ascot whenever the mood takes) and have never been disappointed. For me and my family the warm welcome, great food and energetic, lively ambience makes it out favourite restaurant.

5 / 5

Review added 11/02/2013 17:49 by anon

We have never been to this restaurant, and recently I really fancied some crispy duck with pancakes. I ordered a take away. I can't fault the service, which was extremely fast and within 15 minutes food was ready for pickup.

However, I was really disappointed by the quality and taste. My duck was really really small (even for 1/4), and more importantly was about 70% crisp / unchewable, 30% duck. At £9.00, I really expected better. I tried Waitrose crispy duck and pancakes before which wasn't as expensive, it was half a duck, was slightly crispy on the outside, tender and juicy inside and tasted fabulous ! I looked at the menu, and overall, prices are really high.

Sorry but this has put me off booking a meal at that restaurant.

1.5 / 5

Review added 29/01/2013 09:46 by Mark

In reference to JRR’s review of Kongs in Bourne End I suggest you try the Peking Inn in Cookham. I have been eating there for over 25 years. I have found it to be the best and most reliably consistence Chinese restaurant in the area. Very occasionally the quality slips a little, but all places do now and again. In my opinion you cannot go wrong here, as do the vast majority of the reviewers of this establishment. When I read reviews I always look to see how many reviews a place has got and what the average star rating is. Once a place has over 20 reviews you will get a good broad indication of what people think of it. The Peking Inn has 38 reviews and an average of 4 stars, which in my humble opinion means it is a place worth trying.

4.5 / 5

Review added 04/11/2012 22:29 by anon

Been going here for 9 years and has always been aboslutely fantastic.
Good food, fair prices and friendly service.
Ignore all the overly -agressive negative review on here - if you're looking for a good chinese resturant with a happy atmosphere then the Peking Inn is for you

5 / 5

Review added 24/10/2012 19:57 by meg

Just had our my daughter's birthday dinner last saturday, despite the restaurant was so busy but the service and food standard were fantastic! Especially with the new menu, new interior redecoration... Well done ! Congratulations to John and Pam !Will definitely come back.

5 / 5

Review added 14/10/2012 23:09 by Alison

Dined there last week for the first time in probably over a year! There have been quite a few lovely additions to the menu, including a tempura prawn and deep fried soft shell crab. Both delicious. Our usual of ribs with sauce, steamed sea bass and pak choy dish didn't disappoint. Service was impeccable. Will definitely be going back to try the rest of the new dishes!

4.5 / 5

Review added 11/07/2012 14:13 by Jamie

Been dining at PK for 15+ yrs and have ALWAYS answered the phone [provided you call during opening hours of course!] Sometimes a slight delay in answering if you call during a busy service but then most restaurants are the same. To the last reviewer - I would keep trying - you won't be disappointed I assure you!

5 / 5

Review added 11/07/2012 12:10 by anon

Never answer phone!!

0.5 / 5

Review added 23/03/2012 23:04 by Andy Dobbing

Best Chinese I have been to in Bucks. In fact south east. The salted chilli prawns are excellent. It is fairly expensive, true, but hey... It is in Cookham. What do you expect.

4.5 / 5

Review added 01/03/2012 19:33 by anon

The best chinese restaurant in, er, Cookham

5 / 5

Review added 01/03/2012 08:35 by Mark

I whole heartedly concur with the last reviewer. I have been going to this restaurant for over 25 years now, others restaurants have come and gone it that time. The reason the Peking Inn is still in business is their consistency over the years, serving up good food with good service. All of my family use it, many friends and associates use it and everyone is of the same opinion that it is consistently one of the best Chinese restaurants in the area. Again like the last reviewer I am tired of reading about people complaining after the event, if you do not have the back bone to sort it out at the time don’t moan about it afterwards. Let’s spend more time praising our local business’s not trying to mire their excellent reputations by petty minded comments about an optional and I restate optional service charge.

5 / 5

Review added 29/02/2012 22:32 by Tobin

A tad churlish to actually state a purposeful 'desire' to negatively influence others because you felt your experience did not warrant the optional service charge. Don't pay it then - don't pay less then moan about having done so.
The Peking Inn staff I have known for over 10yrs are always polite, friendly and welcoming - the food excellent and the service great. Yes when busy
they can be a little rushed but most popular restaurants are the same but they are never rude.. in my experience. Reviews are of course meant to allow a place to offer personal opinion but the experience that my family, friends and colleagues has always been very positive and in stark contrast to the previous review.

5 / 5

Review added 27/02/2012 22:54 by anon

My experience there was so bad last Saturday that I have to decided to influence the next batch of unsuspecting victims.

What a horrible bunch of money obsessed people.

Rude, arrogant, rapid and money obsessed. Reasonable meal spoiled by the 15% gratuity added to our bill on Saturday. When I offered 10% I didn't even get a thank You or goodbye.

Never again.

FROM COOKHAM WEBMASTER
The above was two reviews that have been merged into one as it was from the same reviewer.

1 / 5

Review added 08/12/2011 12:49 by New to the area

Had the banquet and felt it was very expensive for the size and quality of the dishes. Not sure I'd bother going back.

2 / 5

Review added 12/11/2011 17:46 by anon

This restaurant offers very good chinese food and service. Over the years of both going there and ordering take aways we have always had good food and good service. The food is perhaps priced on the high side, but then I think its kind of the norm these days... and I too have paid 10% rather than 12.5% which is what I normally tip, without grumble from the owners. You know when you get a good chinese and when you get an average one. Just as I know an average Thai restaurant (there's one in Beaconsfield) with a good one, and an avaerage Indian etc. I know many people who frequent the Chef Peking as their Chinese of choice and if you are thinking of going there for a meal - do.

4.5 / 5

Review added 09/11/2011 17:19 by J Kelly

In response to the last review - your opinion of the Peking Inn being average is 'in my opinion' rather harsh. If you know of another oriental restaurant that delivers better quality of food at the same prices with the same consistently high service and great atmosphere then please tell us all.

I have over 10 years of custom at Peking Inn and have simply lost count of how many times I have recommended it to friends, clients, colleagues etc and unfailingly ALL have visited and had such a good experience they have subsequently recommended it themselves.

The service charge at 12.5% is a little higher than normal I agree BUT I personally feel the great value of the broad menu and the service received warrant it. True 'optional' should be just that but if you left 6.25% [half the 12.5% - as stated] tip is I would suggest that is far too little and would not reflect the good service you almost certainly received.

5 / 5

Review added 07/11/2011 12:04 by anon

For anyone interested, I would consider this to be an average restaurant. All prices end in 95p in order to not state the next pound, but, more significantly was my recent experience.
You may perhaps be aware that a service charge of 12.5% is added to your bill. I decided that this was excessive and so cut it in half and duly put cash to cover my food bill and the reduced service charge. A few minuted later the head waiter came to my table to complain that I had not paid my bill in full. Since I had guests I paid up. You may have noticed that this is despite their website clearly stating that service charge is DISSCRETIONAL. CAN YOU TRUST THEM?

3.5 / 5

Review added 17/09/2011 11:00 by Christine Jannetta

It's clear that in this noisy restaurant that unless you are a regular, you are treated with disrespect and discourtesy!
The food at The Peking Inn is OK but not great and therefore if you want a really good Chinese meal, I would recommend that you go to Lychee (in Cookham Rise) and buy a takeout!

2.5 / 5

Review added 31/08/2011 11:22 by Chris

went there last weekend and also a few weeks previous. On both occassions we had the chef's banquet at £20 which includes for a mix starter (very good quality and supplied with a good portion of different sauces) - crispy duck (probably some of the best we have had in years in terms of flavour and quality of meat) - and then you can choose 3 main courses, a vegetable dish and a rice.
very good quality food and great friendly service

4 / 5

Review added 29/07/2011 19:00 by karen moyse

We have been to The Peking Inn in Cookham for years. It's one of the best chinese restaurants in the area and the atmosphere is always relaxed and the service friendly and efficient. It's not haute cuisine but the standard of cooking is much higher than most chinese restaurants. Their lettuce wrap can't be beaten even by restaurants in Soho.

3 / 5

Review added 21/05/2011 18:05 by Jamie

Another busy Saturday night at Peking Inn last week but as always we had great service, great food and a great time. If only some of the other restaurants in cookham delivered such consistently high standards - it would become one of the best gastro villages in the county! Thanks John and Patrick and all the staff at PI for never failing to ensure a good night - in well over 15 years custom Kellie and I still look forward to every visit as if it were the first!

5 / 5

Review added 23/11/2010 13:59 by Jim Smith

I have just logged on to see a very mixed range of reviews the Peking Inn has recently received. The rather snarling and aggressive attitude of some of the reviewers I think clearly shows a lack of respect for other peoples opinion and if that same attitude and approach is taken to a restaurant or other service establishment, I am not surprised you are dealt with in a rather indifferent manner.

If you have had a bad experience did you speak to the Manager about it and have your complaint heard?? I think not.

Peking Inn has over 20 years established one of the largest and most loyal customer bases of any restaurant in the area and that has been achieved through consistently delivering high quality service and food and memorable customer experience.

Most discerning diners do not return to a bad or indifferent experience, so whilst it is entirely feasible your experience was not as many others have enjoyed, I would suggest you are in an overwhelming minority.

I have dined at PK for 15+yrs and have recommended it to many friends, colleagues and clients and all have passed on the recommendation having themselves enjoyed an excellent time.

Finally is your suggestion restaurants are writing their own reviews one you can substantiate? I would be surprised if some were not but equally surprised if others were.

5 / 5

Review added 22/11/2010 12:56 by Gavin St. John Heath

What a disgrace.

I came to this web site to review my most recent experience at the Peking Inn only to read a diatribe of utter rubbish from the “Web Master”.

Within the first few posts, I have determined that the “web Master” is posting his own reviews on the web page and that there is an allegation that the owners are posting their own positive reviews.

This web page should be closed down with immediate effect, it’s nothing more than embarrassing.

Oh and for the record, my experience at this establishment was less than positive.

I live in Holyport / Bray area – Cookham has a lot to learn about food!

Poor show!

Gavin

0.5 / 5

Review added 20/11/2010 09:24 by Robert Harris

David, you say banish 'anon'. Isn't giving only your first name pretty anonymous?

Based on your experience of 9 years ago you've castigated the Peking Inn and spread your bad news to hundreds! How churlish of you.

This is a real, honest review from a real person happy to reveal his full name.

Last evening I went to the Peking Inn with a group of friends. We all chose the set £16.50 dinner and were swiftly served with an interesting variety of dishes. The food was hot and tasty and there was plenty of it. The service was excellent and our requests for more sauces and other items were dealt with quickly.

A very enjoyable evening.

Robert Harris

3.5 / 5

Review added 18/11/2010 17:30 by david

I totally disagree with the last review. I used to go to the Peking Inn at least twice a month both privately and with business teams.... until 9 years ago. My daughters 18th birthday dinner there was so,so bad. My worst restaurant experience ever! We havent been since and privately I have told hundreds of people just how bad it was. It seems nothing has changed. Smiley faces, look after the big parties,ask for a big tip however bad the service was, and now post your own great reviews.

1 / 5

Review added 18/11/2010 17:12 by anon

Whatever the ins and outs concerning the authorship of some reviews, I can only say that over a number of years I've always enjoyed my visits to the Peking, whether to eat in or purchase a take away.
I find it alarming that the origin of reviews can be traced. Webmaster - please comment.

4.5 / 5

Review added 13/11/2010 11:00 by Jane

We had a fantastic evening here recently. The food was excellent, as always, and we had very good service. The proprietor welcomed our party (and others who arrived after us) with unhurried and friendly conversation as we were seated.

Our family is fairly choosy about restaurants but we have always enjoyed eating at the Peking Inn and have never, ever been disappointed!

5 / 5

Review added 13/11/2010 10:10 by Customer Fri evening

I really have to wonder whether the 5 star reviews have been written by the owners themselves. From the outside of the restaurant, the big glass front it all looks very inviting. But once you put your foot through the door you experience the opposite. Service staff and front of house clearly are more interested how fast the order will be placed, how long it will take you to eat and when you will finally leave. We could have dealt with poor service if at least the food had been good. Overpriced and as bad as takeaways. Starter chicken kebabs tough as a boot. Peking duck and beef dish from the set menu were the only good dishes. Rest was below avarage. Really appaling for a restaurant in a nice village like Cookham. Then they also had the oddasity to add a service charge of 15% to our bill for two people. What a waste of time. Not recommended. Don't do it to your taste buds.

0.5 / 5

Review added 08/11/2010 21:43 by anon

Nice, but expensive for what we had.

3 / 5

Review added 27/10/2010 16:22 by anon

Here...here!! The Peking Inn rightly deserves its place as one of just a few establishments rated 5 stars on this website! If you haven't been, you should, if you have been you will know why it earns it status!

5 / 5

Review added 27/10/2010 13:32 by Tania

We had yet another excellent dinner at the Peking Inn last week - the same high quality cooking and individual service which we have enjoyed there over the past 20 years or so. Cookham is indeed very fortunate to have a Chinese restaurant of this standard. Highly recommended!

5 / 5

Review added 21/09/2010 10:30 by Jamie & Kellie

As ever, fabulous food and the best service you could ask for in any restaurant. Saturday night was heaving yet John and his team effortlessly made sure every table had a great evening which, as always, made for a thoroughly enjoyable atmosphere! There are many restaurants in Cookham which offer fine fare, but few, if any, match the service at Peking Inn!

5 / 5

Review added 31/08/2010 21:40 by Meg

Our family has had regular takeaway meals from Peking Inn for at least 25 years and I can't remember any drop in quality, ever. The food is just as good now as it has always been - so good that some of our favourite dishes are the same now as they were then, despite various interesting menu changes.
The service is always personal, caring and excellent and, for the same reason, it is also a real treat when we dine there!

5 / 5

Review added 31/08/2010 10:55 by Anon

I would ask the most recent reviewer if they raised their concerns about the food quality at the time of their visit? John and Co would certainly have listened to your concerns and rectified anything that was not up to their impeccable standards. Having dined at PI for over 15years, I have taken friends, colleagues and family to this restaurant and all have delivered nothing but praise for the food, the service and the ambiance. Peking Inn remains at the top of its game and is a shining example of a well managed, kitchen orientated and successful restaurant that inspires loyalty from its many customers, new and old.

5 / 5

Review added 03/08/2010 18:21 by anon

i have to dis agree with the other comments, unfortunatly my first visit here was so disappointing, the food was extremely poor in flavour and quality,(mushy prawns, bland and cheap meat in the singapore noodles) however the service was pretty good, it is not enough however to encourge me into a return visit.

0.5 / 5

Review added 23/07/2010 14:24 by Anon

A pleasure to return time and time again to a restaurant that takes consistent pride in its foods and its service and really values all its customers - John and Co unfailingly ensure a good night out!

5 / 5

Review added 02/09/2009 07:54 by anon

Really enjoy visiting this restaurant. Lovely meal on Saturday night, place full as usual. Food hot and plenty of it.Good house wine, excellent service despite being very busy.

4 / 5

Review added 28/05/2009 14:17 by Anon

There are few small pleasures better than a visit to the PK for a Saturday night [or any other evening in fact]. John and Patrick [get well soon] are the most efficient, professional, endearing and attentive staff you could hope for [the whole team are] and the food is 'always' excellent. We have been going for over 15yrs now and think Cookham is all the better for having the PK in it! Best Wishes!

5 / 5

Review added 20/02/2009 18:00 by Cookham Resident

I agree with other reviewers that this is an excellent Chinese restaurant, but feel that suggestions that it is "the best restaurant in Cookham" may be over hyped! I have over 20 years experience of eating there, both as an in-house and take away client. Standards remain admirably and consistently high and clear evidence of kitchen driven food quality. Caution: watch out they do not pressure you into over ordering drinks and beware when they add the service charge to the bill, but leave the "extras" line open on the credit card tab!

5 / 5

Review added 14/01/2009 13:41 by Jamie & Kellie

Without doubt the best restaurant Cookham has to offer (and it has many great places to eat!). John, Patrick and all his staff make dining out the experience it should be; relaxing, enjoyable, fun and a pleasure. The food is always outstanding and the ambience they create for their customers almost delivers a home away from home feel! We now live in Ascot but return to the Peking Inn regularly and simply cannot imagine choosing anywhere else when Eastern cuisine is called for. If you do not try the Peking Inn you will never fully realise just how good a dining out experience can be - the warmest welcome and a great night out awaits you.

5 / 5

Review added 13/01/2009 08:33 by anon

If ever somebody wanted to see how a restaurant should be run, go to the Peking Inn.
The food is excellent, teh staff are wonderful and John & ptrick always make it a great night out!

5 / 5